How It Works

怎么运行的?

Stepes 具备行业领先的OCR技术,我们拥有最高效的按需翻译服务。 无论是扫描的PDF文档,还是带有文本的JPG或PNG文件,我们的全自动OCR翻译解决方案都可以快速无误地翻译。

只需使用我们的在线翻译服务,随时上传您的扫描文档或包含文字的图像文件即可获得即时报价。 在您确认后,项目经理将审核已处理的OCR文件,以确保扫描的内容清晰无误。 定期地,自动识别的文档包含由于背景颜色和图片而导致硬错误,拼写错误以及其他OCR异常错误放置的句子。 Stepes手动审核过程消除了光学字符识别问题,因此我们的翻译人员使用清晰的文本内容来处理最高质量的翻译输出。

如果OCR过程产生不良结果,Stepes将自动恢复到转录过程,以便我们的语言专家在查看扫描文件的同时翻译文档。 尽管与使用可编辑文本相比,此过程较慢,但它是Stepes确保语言质量最高的方法。

stepes-ocr

最好的OCR翻译应用程序

使用 OCR 扫描文档翻译,具有许多独特的优点。 除了自动提取可翻译的文本,Stepes OCR技术还可以将提取的内容转换为与原始扫描文档相匹配的格式和布局。 这种自动DTP(桌面出版)显着提高了本地化效率,因为它消除了重新创建源文档的需要,这是一个耗时的过程。 Stepes OCR翻译解决方案适用于以下文档:

  • 扫描的PDF文档
  • 复印法律文件
  • 扫描的病历
  • 小册子的电子图片

what-is-ocr

什么是OCR?

OCR 是光学字符识别,它是一种软件应用程序,可将扫描文档转换为带有活动文本的文档,即可编辑,可搜索的文本,您可以更改,复制,编辑和翻译。 有许多不同的OCR技术,例如矩阵匹配和智能识别。 矩阵匹配将扫描字符的形状和笔划与ASCII字符对应的字符模板库进行比较。智能识别是使用人工智能来查找和分析字符特征(例如开放空间,字符形状,对角线,交叉线等)的OCR,并且更加通用。

常见问题

fqa-doc

如何翻译扫描的文件?

有三种方式可以翻译您的扫描文件

  1. 转录过程。如果文档包含一个或两个页面,则可以使用手动转录过程进行翻译。在此过程中,翻译人员会查看扫描的文档并将内容直接转换为Word或文本文件。 虽然这种方法比较耗时,并且经常会丢失原始格式,但质量会很好。
  2. 使用机器翻译的OCR 。如果翻译质量不是您的首要考虑因素,一旦使用OCR扫描文档以提取内容,机器翻译程序会自动将内容转换为您所需的语言。 这个过程是快速和最经济的,同时保留其原始格式。 但是,如果内容是面向客户的,语言质量可能不是罪高的。
  3. 使用专业翻译器的 OCR 。与选项 2 类似,此方法需要先使用OCR技术提取文本,再由专业人工翻译人员翻译。为了确保最佳效果,首先应审查通过 OCR 扫描的文本,以消除机械错误(例如在光学字符识别期间引入的拼写错误和分解句子)。此选项也将保留原始文档的格式,但人工翻译通常更耗时,因此成本更高。

fqa-pdf

如何翻译PDF?

PDF(便携式文档格式)很容易分发,但很难翻译。 这是因为PDF文件不再保留源文档的内部组织和格式结构。 如果PDF文档包含许多精心布局的页面,这可能尤其具有挑战性。 但是,PDF文件是人们经常需要翻译的最常见的文件类型之一(或者是因为它们没有拥有原始源文件,或者他们不知道从哪里获得它。)Stepes 无需翻译解决方案将PDF文件自动转换为Adobe InDesign或Word格式,以便翻译。 但是,如果您拥有受保护的PDF,则自动文本提取不再有效,因此需要付出更多努力。

fqa-jpg

我如何翻译一张照片?

图片翻译的需求越来越大,因为今天的大部分数字信息都存在于人们用手机扫描的文档或图片中。 例如,Stepes 图像翻译页面每天都会收到大量的图片翻译请求。 翻译图像的过程与扫描文档的过程相似。 如果图像是仅包含少量文本的应用程序或用户界面的屏幕截图,则可以使用转录方法很容易地进行翻译。 但是,如果图片包含大量文字,则最好先使用OCR对其进行扫描以提取内容,然后再由专业翻译人员翻译以获得最佳效果。

需要扫描文档翻译?

stepes-team-gril01

How It Works

How It Works?

Our industry leading OCR technology solutions provide the most efficient on-demand translation services. Whether it’s a scanned PDF document, JPG or PNG file with text, our fully automated OCR translation solutions get it translated fast and hassle-free.

Simply upload your scanned documents or image files containing text using our online project portal to obtain an instant quote. Upon your confirmation, a project manager will review the processed OCR file to ensure that the scanned content is clean and error free. Periodically, auto recognized documents contain broken sentences with misplaced hard returns, typos, and other OCR anomalies due to background colors and pictures.  The Stepes manual review process eliminates optical character recognition issues so our translators work with a cleaned text content for the highest quality translation output.

In cases where the OCR process produces poor results, Stepes will automatically revert to the transcription process so our linguists translate your documents while looking at the scanned file. Although this process is slower compared to working with editable text, it’s Stepes way to ensure the highest linguistic quality.

stepes-ocr

Best OCR Translation Applications

Using OCR for translating scanned documents has a number of distinct advantages. In addition to automatically extracting translatable text, Stepes OCR technology also converts the extracted content to the format and layout matching the original scanned document. This automatic DTP (desktop publishing) dramatically improves localization efficiency because it eliminates the need to recreate the source document, a time-consuming process. Stepes OCR translation solutions are ideal for the following documents:

  • Scanned PDF documents
  • Hardcopy business contacts
  • Photocopied legal documents
  • Scanned medical records
  • Electronic images of brochures

what-is-ocr

What is OCR?

OCR stands for optical character recognition which is a software application that converts scanned documents into documents with a live text—aka editable, searchable text that you can change, copy, edit, and translate. There are a number of different OCR technologies such as matrix matching and intelligent recognition. Matrix matching compares the shape and strokes of scanned characters against a library of character templates corresponding to ASCII characters. Intelligent recognition is OCR that uses artificial intelligence to look for and analyze character features such as open spaces, character shapes, diagonal lines, line intersections, etc. and is more versatile.

Frequently Asked Questions

fqa-doc

How can I translate a scanned document?

There are three ways to translate your scanned documents with professional quality.

  1. Transcription Process. If the document contains one or two pages, it can be translated using a manual transcription process. During this process, a human translator looks at the scanned document and translates the content directly into a Word or text file. While this approach is more time consuming and often loses the original formatting, the quality will be good.
  2. OCR with Machine Translation. If translation quality is not your top consideration, once the document is scanned with OCR to extract the content a machine translation program then automatically converts the content to your desired language. This process is fast and the most cost efficient while retaining its original format. However, linguistic quality may be unacceptable if the content is customer facing.
  3. OCR with Professional Translator. Similar to option 2, this approach needs to first extract the text using OCR technology, but the content is then translated by a professional human translator for the highest quality. In order to ensure the best result, the text scanned through OCR should first be reviewed to remove mechanical errors (such as typos and broken up sentences introduced during optical character recognition.) This option will also retain the format of the original document, but human translation is often more time consuming and therefore more costly.

fqa-pdf

How do I translate a PDF?

PDF (portable document format) is easy to distribute but it’s hard to translate. This is because a PDF file no longer retains the internal content organization and format structures of the source document. This can be especially challenging if the PDF document contains many pages with an elaborate layout. However, PDF files are among the most common file types that people often need translated (either because they don’t own the original source document or they don’t know where to get it.) Stepes on-demand translation solutions converts PDF files to either Adobe InDesign or Word format automatically so they can be easily translated. However, if you have a protected PDF, it will take considerably more effort as automatic text extraction is no longer effective.

fqa-jpg

How can I translate a picture?

Picture translation is becoming increasingly in demand because a large portion of today’s digital information exists in scanned documents or pictures people take with their phones. For example, Stepes image translation page gets tons of picture translation requests on a daily basis. The process of translating images is similar to that of scanned documents. If the image is a screenshot of an app or user interface which contains only a small amount of text, it can be translated quite easily using the transcription method. However, if the picture contains a lot of text, it’s best to scan it with OCR first to extract the content before translating with a professional translator for the best results.

Need help with Scanned Document Translations?

stepes-team-gril01